Photoshop Ate My SOUL!

Obsessive-compulsive.

I recognize this.

Addicted.

I recognize this, too.

Still, I haven’t managed to step away from Photoshop.

If I was getting ready to go to college right now, I think I would either double-major in Graphic Arts and History, or major in Graphic Arts and minor in history. I wish I had known a decade ago that I love to design things on a computer.

As I have said before: college is wasted on the young. I don’t think anyone should step foot into a college before the age of 25. You have to work for a living for at least a few years to truly appreciate college and to know what you really want to do with your life.

Anyways, time to subject you to more book covers. (Only two this time.)

Decisions-Cover-alternate-1Most of my readers preferred the road-with-lights cover. I’m still kind of “meh” about it, mostly because I liked it better without the red tint. While I was thinking I might do a different tint for each book–just to sort of tie them together stylistically–it’s not a requirement. Besides, the road picture is dark all on its own.

Here it is in its original color:

Decisions-Cover-alternate-1

Ignore the shadow on the title; it drifted when I scaled the picture down for the web. It won’t look funky in the full-size version.

If you’ve been keeping up with the saga, I decided a few months ago to break my second book into two books. This created a larger-than-usual edit of the first draft because I needed to add several more chapters to make it longer.

Last night, I finished what I think is the best work I’ve done so far for this series–and, oddly enough, it’s about Micah. (He really develops into a serious character in the second book.)

Today, I finished–more or less–my heavy revision work, and I’m now reading through the book from the beginning and smoothing out my transitions between chapters and adding anything that I’ve left out, cutting duplicate information, etc. If you want to think in terms of road construction, I’ve finished laying the gravel for the roadbed, and now I’m laying my first coat of asphalt.

To make a long story short, while I was doing my read-through this evening, I was struck by a description of Anselm:

“One thing you need to know is Anselm will not be rushed when it comes to making decisions he feels are important. He has to consider a problem from every possible angle—play the entire chess match in his head—before he will make his first move. But once he commits, he will stand by his decision and will see it through to the end.”

I read that and thought, “What about a chess board for a front cover?”

So here’s yet another cover option:

Decisions-Cover-alternate-v

I’m thinking this might be my favorite so far. (Yes, note the qualifier.)

7 comments on “Photoshop Ate My SOUL!

  1. I actually really, really like the chess idea, especially since it relates so poignantly to your book. 🙂 And to the idea of decisions themselves! I like the road one, but the chess one is really pulling me in…

    • Keri Peardon says:

      I think what I like best about it is that there is a person in the picture. Like the new “Acceptance” cover, you can’t really see a face, but the element of a human is still there.

      • That is also a good point! It also helps to give them some continuity in that way, although if you establish it, probably people/body parts all-around would be best.

  2. harperpages says:

    I agree with the first comment, and your reply comment as well! I think the ‘chess’ aspect (and the hovering chess piece in the image itself) perfectly matches both the concept of the title ‘Decisions’ and ties in perfectly with the subtle ‘human’ allusions you mentioned regarding Acceptance.

  3. The chess theme is fun! My only concern is that the “chess” thing was used for Twilight (book three or four, I think), so … I mean, it’s a good way to draw Twilight lovers to your book, especially since they’re both about vampires. Your book is way better, obviously 😀 But I don’t know if A) you like Twilight, or B) that’s an association you want people seeing your cover to make.

    • Keri Peardon says:

      Yeah, I know a chess piece was used on the cover of the fourth “Twilight” book. Breaking Dawn

      That’s the only thing that bothers me about the image; I definitely don’t want to be accused of being a knock-off. But, damnit, it just works so well!

      • Well, I mean, what you have is a totally different image and colour scheme. Not to mention I’m sure there are other covers with chess on them, so it’s not like you’re copying Twilight.

Leave a Reply

