Redo My Cover?

acceptance front coverYou know how I said I didn’t want a dark, sultry, or “vampirish” cover for my book? Yeah, well, I’m thinking I might change my cover up, just to see if I can generate more sales. While I like the cover I have, maybe a different cover would be more attractive to others.

So, here’s a possible new cover. Does it seem a bit more vampiric, romantic, and/or dark (as in theme, not in coloration).

I also rewrote the back cover blurb a little bit. What do you think? I think it’s not quite suspenseful enough; there’s a lot of action in my first book. But it doesn’t sound quite as juvenile. Despite the fact that my protagonist is a teenager, I’ve never held this series up as teen/young adult book. (I like the emerging New Adult genre, which aims for an audience 16-25 years old.)Acceptance-Alternate-Cover

 

 

3 comments on “Redo My Cover?

  1. I think the cover is much better for the genre. I follow a paranormal romance feed on Facebook and all the covers are sultry, dark and sexy. I figure you have to fit into your genre. The only thing I would say is the font is quite hard to read (it would be impossible on a kindle cover). I see this is set up for print but assuming you have it on kindle too? The other thing that might be quite cool would be a flash of colour – the earing or a highlight in the hair?

  2. Yes, I would have to agree, it does fit its genre a little better now. Not that I didn’t like the first cover, I really did! But it tends to look more adult one-shot novel, maybe a school book, instead of book 1 in a vampire series. I agree with the first commenter, however that the loopy cursive font is hard to read, especially with the underline. I would make it larger, with a more open font so that it can be read in all forms. 🙂 But that’s my 2 cents! Good luck–I really enjoyed your novel and look forward to the next one, whatever the cosmetics!

  3. I definitely vote for the super dramatic, shadowy cover. I like the Acceptance cover you have right now, but it doesn’t really scream VAMPIRE!!! at me. Actually, when I first saw it, I thought your book was set in Shakespearean England. So if you’re looking to drawn in more of today’s fun lovin’, blood drinkin’ vampire crowd, definitely go with a darker, sultry cover 🙂

Leave a Reply

