Not Working is Hard Work

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:George_Herriman_1907-11-24_Hard_Work.pngWho knew being unemployed would make me so busy? I seem to be working as hard since I was laid-off as I was when I was putting in 40 hours a week. The house is looking better, though, and I made all the family rounds at Christmas.

I’ve also had 4 interviews in as many weeks and have another attorney who wants to schedule an interview the first or second week of January. I figure I’m getting interviews from about 10% of the resumes I send out, which is pretty high, especially in this economy. I’m also getting a lot of compliments on the depth of my skills, which is a good thing. Hopefully it will mean a job in the not-too-distant future.

Now that the holidays are over (I don’t count New Year’s, since I don’t have to go anywhere or do anything for it), I hope to be more active on my blog again. I also plan on doing more Bloodsuckers and release Volume 3 on Smashwords.

I also started a new short story recently that I think is going to turn out good. When I wrote The Last Golden Dragon, I intended for it to be part of a collection of fairy tales inspired by Ireland. (At the time, you couldn’t get a short story published on its own.) I wrote some other stories, but was never as happy with them as I was with TLGD, so the book idea languished, and I eventually published TLGD as a stand-alone short story/novella. But this new story seems like it might fit in with the theme. If I complete it, I’ll publish it individually. Maybe I will eventually get one or two more stories that fit together, and I can bundle them all together and publish them as a novel.

And I’m also getting inspired to to make my edits on Devotion, the sequel to Acceptance. I’m doing some pretty heavy revising, but the new storyline is starting to take shape in my mind.

And, at some point, I have to buckle down and write more on The Flames of Prague, which I plan on releasing late next year.

So, I have a full year planned for 2013: new job, more writing and publishing, and more blogging.

2 comments on “Not Working is Hard Work

  1. Wallace says:

    Sounds good! An active year planned can only work to your advantage. A full time job might bring in more money, but it will cut down on your writing time. You should go full tilt into your writing and only take breaks when you have interviews or leads of a job. That way you’ll stay busy, get a lot done, and still keep up the search for a new job.

    If you get one in Nashville or worse, Knoxville or Chattanooga, you’ll either have an impossibly long commute or have to spend Monday thru Friday out of town. Maybe just Tuesday thru Thursday if you can drive off really early Monday morning and back home Friday night. But that would still mean living someplace else at least three nights a week.

    You’d need to factor that in for any job, along with salary and benefits. I got reassigned from Knoxville to Chattanooga and, since I had a child in school, I had to drive back and forth every day for 18 months. It was tough on me, the car, and the gas bill since I racked up over 50k miles in those 18 months. If you have a long daily commute or need a second apartment, a mediocre job far away might not even be worth taking. Just something to consider when interviewing for a job.

    • Keri Peardon says:

      When Stuart and I were dating, I traveled between Chattanooga and Nashville (about 120 miles one way) every weekend for a year and a half. I know ALL about that commute.

      And I have no intention of doing that again. If I get a job in Chattanooga, we will be moving. Ideally, he will be at home during the week, sorting through stuff and packing, then I will come home on the weekend and help pack and then haul a load back with me. I can stay with family while I work during the week and we can put our stuff in storage until we find a place to rent.

Leave a Reply

