Hey, Ya’ll, Watch This!

Honest to God, this is the way people from Tennessee, north Georgia, and most of Alabama sound. Study this if you want to have Southern characters in your books.

BTW, as my husband points out, you can say the meanest, cruelest, ugliest thing about a person, but appending “bless her/his heart” to the statement makes it completely okay.

“Bless her heart, but she was dumb as a box of rocks.”

“He’s ugly as sin, bless his heart.”

You can also use it to show general sympathy. “I fell off the roof yesterday.” “Bless your heart!”

4 comments on “Hey, Ya’ll, Watch This!

  1. Oh, I wish I would have read/watched this before I wrote my book in New Orleans! I used a y’all here and there, and I got the food right, but I could have used a lot more of these. LOL!

    • Keri Peardon says:

      N’Awlins has its own dialect which is separate from much of the rest of the South, due to the French influence (among other things). What you need is the video “Stuff coonasses say.”

  2. Hey, thanks for the tips.

    One of the best things about writing science fiction is that you get to make up the dialects yourself. The bad part is that you have to put in the work to do that…

    • Keri Peardon says:

      I feel your pain. My vampires have their own language (which, I’m very proud to say, is fully functional; I took a leaf out of Tolkein’s book) and making it and keeping track of it is hard.

Leave a Reply

