Obsessing About Books and Music

Anselm drove to the North Carolina border before swapping driving duty with Micah. Kalyn had fallen asleep in the back seat, but woke when the car stopped and Anselm and Micah wrangled over the music selection in whispers.

“I can’t listen to classical music and stay awake,” Micah complained.

“I want to sleep,” Anselm countered. “No techno.”

“Do you want me to drive or not?”

Kalyn closed her eyes and smiled, listening to them argue for a full minute before they finally compromised with Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon album. Micah stuck it in the CD player and they got on their way again.

While I’m now in agony over the fact that I have probably abused the hell out of em-dashes (I love them til it hurts), I take comfort in the fact that I can at least name that tune.

Speaking of which, I actually have a playlist for my book. If you want to cue the music while reading certain chapters, it will help set the mood.

Accepted – Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) by Greenday
Waiting to Say Goodbye – Lullaby by Billy Joel
They Are Waiting – Gloomy Sunday by Sarah McLachlan
Old Soldiers – Wild Boys by Duran Duran
Trouble Comes in Fives – Breathe by Pink Floyd
Master Joshua – הפרויקט של עיד (Say God) by The Idan Raichel Project
The Basement – Cursum Perficio by Enya
The Enemy Among us – Oculus Ex Inferni by Symphony X

You may ask why on earth did I bother to make a soundtrack for my book? Well, actually, when I write, I imagine (read: fantasize about) my book playing out as a movie. And sometimes there’s a soundtrack that accompanies that sweeping shot, slow motion action, or zoom in. I have it in my head anyways, so why not share?

2 comments on “Obsessing About Books and Music

  1. Wallace says:

    You’re in good company. I don’t think I’ve ever read a single Stephen King book where he didn’t put practically an entire listening library of songs in his books. Of course, I haven’t read a new SK book in some time, so I’m only reffering to the older books, but I believe some of them had several song excerpts in each chapter and even a song lyric to start off each chapter.

    Of course, maybe the reason SM didn’t name any particular songs is because she didn’t know any that would go with her work. Or maybe she just didn’t want to give them the free PR they’d get from being mentioned in a best selling novel. And there’s also the possibility that her taste in music is so bad that she had the songs in the novels originally and her editor took them out lest the novels be ignored by teens simply because of the really bad song references. Who knew that Edward was a really big fan of Yanni…

    • Keri Peardon says:

      Obviously she has bad taste in music, because Edward says that music in the 50’s was great, it sucked in the 60’s and 70’s, and the 80’s weren’t so bad.

      Really? Music in the 60’s and 70’s sucked? A musician says this?

      Funny, none of the musicians in MY life say this. In fact, they say pretty much the exact opposite: the 60’s and 70’s were the epoch of American rock/soul/folk/funk music. The 50’s were meh, and so were the 80’s. Everything since has sucked eggs.

      Hence why my vampires are knocking back some Pink Floyd. Yes, Micah likes techno (mainly because Micah loves to dance), but he loves classic rock. It was he who introduced Kalyn to Fleetwood Mac, the Eagles, Santana, etc. He is the only reason why she has any taste in popular music. Otherwise, she might be listening to rap.

Leave a Reply

