Website is Live

I put the final touches on my website and it should be fully functional. I noticed a little bit of formatting difference between my normal screen at home and my wide-aspect screen at work, so there may be some alignment issues, depending on your screen size and resolution (sorry, can’t help that!). Please let me know if there are any broken links or anything’s majorly out of whack.

8 comments on “Website is Live

  1. Ms. Nine says:

    Works fine 🙂

  2. It’s lovely, Keri. Very nice job.

    • Keri Peardon says:

      Thanks! I did everything myself–made the backgrounds and the header and designed the site. (My classes on Adobe Photoshop have really been paying for themselves lately.) The site isn’t really fancy–I am, after all, working with a free web design program and dial-up internet–but I’ve had a look at other authors’ websites and… let’s just say I haven’t seen any stiff competition. For some reason a lot of the big authors seem a bit behind the technological times. You’d think someone as rich as Stephanie Meyer would have some sort of interactive website with lots of cool shit on it, but it seems rather primitive. Like it was made in 1999. J. K. Rowling, on the other hand, has some stuff going on on the internet. That’s the way it needs to be for people writing fantasy.

      I have a secret dream. In my third novel, Kalyn is told to get on the vampires’ website, and Joshua gives her his username and password (which gives her access to everything). I intend for that to be an Easter egg. Before that novel is released, I want to get with someone who has better web design skills than me, and we’re going to create the vampires’ website–right down to the log-in and password. Then, if anyone gets the bright idea to try the web address out in real life, they’ll find a real website. At the very least they’ll be able to see the .pdf document that Kalyn ends up reading, but I would like to have other little tidbits on there. I want people to be able to peruse the online dating ads that the Yaecahrhe (the vampires’ humans) post–complete with pictures and names and interests. I want there to be a news section–complete with people bitching at each other in the comments section (in multiple languages, no less!). I want people to be able to look through the classified ads (what do vampires most want to buy and sell?).

      I’d like for it to be a whole secret world to explore, and when you’re done with it, I want you to wonder, at least for a minute, if what you are reading is fact or fiction.

      • I had to put my own website together as well, but it’s very basic. I like your artwork, fonts, and your color choice. Your Easter egg idea is fantastic! It would definitely be a treat for a curious reader to find a working website. Very creative idea.

      • Keri Peardon says:

        Do you do the illustrations for your cover art?

  3. My niece does the cover art for me. She emailed the sketch for my fourth book just this week. I can’t wait to see a color draft!

  4. Wallace says:

    It looks very good. Are you going to have a place for people to leave comments about your stories, or is it just a place to promote your work?

    • Keri Peardon says:

      No, I don’t have any plans for my website to be interactive. The website is for static information that doesn’t change too much; the blog is for stuff that changes all the time. Besides, WordPress makes it so easy for me to send and receive comments; that’s not true of a traditional website.

Leave a Reply

