Kreativ Blogger Award

Jim Maher has passed the Kreativ Blogger Award to me (thanks, Jim!). It was originally the idea of Hulda Husfrue, a Norwegian blogger, who wanted to bring attention to her four favorite blogs and let them know that she appreciated her work. As everyone who gets the award passes it on to 4-7 other blogs, it circulates the internet.

It’s not a traditional award in that someone picks out a single winner or handful of winners every year. But it’s a way for bloggers to give each other an attaboy (something that’s desperately needed when you’re pouring your heart out to a soulless computer with an internet connection day after day).

It’s traditional to list 7 things that my readers might find interesting about me, before I pass on the torch.

  1. I met my husband while at my second medieval re-enactment. We were married three-and-a-half years later in a medieval wedding ceremony.
  2. I made my husband’s wedding cotehardie–including making 4.5 feet of beaded trim. I also made my cotehardie and sideless surcoat. The surcoat was make from a recycled rabbit fur coat (note to self: when working with fur, wear a dust mask to prevent furry sinuses) and I sewed approximately 14,000 beads onto it, one at a time. (That part, alone, took me about two-and-a-half months.)
  3. I started making and selling crafts with my grandmother and her neighbor when I was 8 years old, and I did that until I went to college 10 years later.
  4. Besides writing, beadwork, sewing, and pattern drafting, I have also tried my hand at spinning, weaving, basketweaving, illumination, lacemaking, embroidery, leatherwork, knitting, and probably a few dozen other things. Some things I’m better at than others.
  5. I wrote my first “novel” when I was in 6th or 7th grade. It was a Sweet Valley Twins-style story, only involving a girl, Elizabeth, and her boyfriend, Jeremy. They lived in Key West, FL and liked to go out on Jeremy’s boat. One day, the engine died and they were left adrift. They were picked up that night by another boat, which turned out to be poachers. The poachers locked them in the hold, and somehow–I never got around to writing that bit–they managed to escape, radio the Coast Guard, and the poachers were captured and they were taken home. The end. The actual manuscript of that story is long gone, but its spirit actually lives on in Acceptance. I have a minor character by the name of Jeremy, and Kalyn’s middle name is Elizabeth.
  6. My pet peeve is condescension. I can’t stand it when people treat others like idiots. Mind you, I’ve seen some real idiots in my time, but I always try to be polite and helpful; no one can help it if they’re dumb as a box of rocks. And compared to some, I am also an ignoramus, so who am I to act like I’m high and mighty?
  7. I’ve decided if I need to have a mid-life crisis (especially if this writing thing doesn’t become full-time employment), I’m going to become a rabbi. What makes that a really crazy idea is that I’m not currently a Jew.

Now, here’s the list of blogs that I like to read on a pretty regular basis, and which I recommend to others:

The Art of Manliness – This may seem like an odd blog for me to follow, seeing how I’m a woman, but they actually have really interesting articles, and a quick trip over there gets me in the mood to write some manly characters.

Annie Cardi – When you’re worn out from writing, make yourself a cup of coffee or tea and go peruse Annie’s site. It’s like a lounge just for writers.

Catherine, Caffeinated – Catherine is one of those successful writers/bloggers who is a rung or two up the blogging ladder from me. Which means I need to beg an interview from her. She has lots and lots of information on self-publishing (which I’ve only begun to scratch the tip of). Expect to see me quoting her info in the future.

The Pioneer Woman – I’m not exactly sure how Ree has time in her day to do all the things she does: ranching, experimenting with food, blogging, writing books, homeschooling her children, taking pictures, hosting a cooking show on Food Network. Her autobiography is a romantic hoot (she recognizes that she’s a comical figure and she plays it up in her writing), her recipes are really good, her photography is lovely (especially if you like horses and farming), and I’ve learned a thing or two about cows since I started reading her blog.

Scott H. Young – I think I would classify Scott as a life-hacker: a person who is always looking for an easier way to do something or squeezing more into (or out of) life. He’s one of those terribly innovative, thinks-outside-the-box people with lots of moxy and up-by-the-bootstraps sort of attitude. He also blogs and writes as a full-time occupation. (I interviewed him about this.) You’ll find an interesting mix of the philosophical and the practical at his site.

2 comments on “Kreativ Blogger Award

  1. Jim Maher says:

    You’re welcome, Keri. Well deserved.

  2. Ms. Nine says:

    I just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I love your posts!

Leave a Reply

