The Task List

So, time for a procrastination update (being public keeps me honest… I think… at least for a little while.)

First of all, I’ve added a new category for things like this–Personal Challenges. I think of my attempts at self-improvement to be kind of like Emily Yoffe’s Human Guinea Pig experiments. Yes, these changes in lifestyle/habit can and do work or no, they don’t and if you’ve like me, you’re doomed. Doomed!

Anyways, to my anti-procrastination list. I will admit that I did some serious backsliding yesterday. Here’s how it went down: I did the easy things first, then I moved on to the long, tedious project that had gotten rolled over from the day before. I completed it. Feeling proud of myself and deserving, I took a break. Then I got sidetracked by something completely irrelevant and the next thing I know, it’s time to leave. So the list was half-blown yesterday.

But today, the list got done. DONE! It was a full day, but I got everything done that I wanted to do. This is the first day the list has been done completely. The in-box pile is steadily dwindling. Tomorrow will be another full day, but Friday is looking good for getting my weekly tasks done.

I have been working on my at-home weekly chore everyday as well: organizing my sewing table. I am a very crafty person, and I like to do a wide-variety of things. Unfortunately, I don’t have enough room in the house to put all of my things, so most of my organization consists of putting things into storage in the barn. But one day I hope to either finish out the upstairs of the barn or get some sort of little storage building which I can convert into my own personal workshop. It will be both where I go to craft and where I go to write (do you know how difficult it is to write a sex scene when your husband is on the other side of the desk playing Battlefield 1942 and constantly shooting Nazis? Not that I have a problem with shooting Nazis, but it is rather loud and distracting.)

Keeping a list of tasks you want to get done on any given day is not only good for procrastinators, but I can see it being beneficial to people who have ADD. Instead of getting distracted by new work that ends up on your desk–so you do a little of everything and all of nothing–the list rules your day. With the exception of emergency work, you do what’s on the list; incoming work gets put on tomorrow’s list. This keeps you focused on one task until completion.

Now, it’s time to stop procrastinating and go to the grocery store for some dinner.

Leave a Reply

