Finishing Up

*Screams in horror* People are trying to spam my blog comments with links to “Justin Bieber and Selina Gomez naked on the beach” and “See how they made a baby.” Noooooooo!!!!!!

I have been working on my book at breakneck speeds. I can’t type fast enough to get it all out. With character list and historical notes, I am running at 73,000 words, so I’m going to hit my goal of 70,000-75,000 words for the actual story. I only lack writing a couple of chapters and finishing a couple more and I’ll be done. I expect to finish it over this long holiday weekend. Then the next month is going to spent editing, fact-checking, and doing some more research. I will probably order a printed proof, because they’re not expensive and it makes it so much easier for me to give it to my husband and friends to read.

I will probably set January aside for my readers to give me feedback and do some more editing based on their reviews (I want my husband, especially, to fact-check my class structure, weapons and fighting, since that is his medieval specialty), and then look at February as a start for querying publishers. If I’m lucky, I might get a response within a year and I’d be looking at a publishing date of a year after that at the earliest.

As I have said before, it takes longer to get published than it does to write a book.
And for all the Americans out there, at home and abroad, Happy Thanksgiving.

2 comments on “Finishing Up

  1. Hey there! Found one of your lenses on Squidoo, while trying to get my ranking up, followed it here. I truly, truly wish you the best on that upcoming book of yours and will be looking out for it. It’s actually one of my New Year’s resolutions to get together my 300 pgs of notes and complete my crime thriller. Good luck!

    • Keri Peardon says:

      I am always in awe of people who can write good mystery/thrillers; I will admit that suspenseful plotting is not my thing.

      I highly recommend the National Novel Writing approach. Although November is, for all intents and purposes, over, you can still apply the concept in any month. Take one month and write 50,000 words. I just finished a new novel at at little over 85,000 in just under a month (and this is the second time I’ve completed NaNoWriMo), so it can be done. I think the rather large goal helps to keep you focused on writing so you don’t bog down. Bogging down in a single scene or chapter is a common problem, and feeling the pressure to write something, anything–no matter how awful–can get you over the hump. Ugly bits can easily be cleaned up in revisions in later months.

      So, set yourself the goal of writing that book in December (or January, if the holidays make December too crazy; you can use next month for plotting, planning and any last research) and go to it! While I’m gnashing my teeth at having still not been published, I can at least say I’ve written a book (three now, actually!), and that is a wonderful feeling. Join in!

Leave a Reply

