Romance, Here I Come!

File:Kneeling knight received a swan-crested helmet.jpgI looked back at the story I started last year and decided it wasn’t going to work for my first foray into romance writing. Romance is at the heart of it (it’s a “sweet” romance–a new phrase I’ve learned meaning a sex-free romance), but it’s also pretty heavy with theology, and while I feel there might be a future for the story somewhere, I don’t think romance is where it goes (or maybe it does belong in supernatural romance, but I need to water down the deep theological aspects).

Anyhow, I’ve decided to start from scratch. But, no worries: I tapped my imagination, wherein dwells many random fantasies, and I spliced together some elements from a couple of previous daydreams and dashed in an element of the Ivanhoe plot, and voila!, I have plot enough to turn into a cheesy romance novel. I’ve decided to make it a historical romance, since I am not much into contemporary anything (unless there’s a supernatural element), and as a medieval re-enactor, I have a huge amount of information on the 14th century, specifically, sitting idle in my head, so why not use it?

I’m going at this a bit backwards, though, as I’m not through reading my book on writing romance fiction and I’ve not done an in-depth study of romances (I have read a few; I’m actually rather fond of the historic romances based on real people); ideally I would have all of that done first. However, NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow, and I have 30 days to dash out 50,000 words, so I will just have to go ahead with my writing and read and research when I have a free moment and make changes as necessary.

I just hope I can force myself to write in the appropriate amount of “heaving bosom” and “silky raven hair” descriptions, because, even though Kalyn and Anselm’s romance is a large part of my trilogy, the story itself is not a romance (there’s too much blood and guts and the end of the third novel is not the happy-ever-after which is mandatory in romance), and it is most assuredly free of such descriptions. Attractive though they both may be, Anselm’s eyes are not the color of a heavy shadow on snow, and Kalyn has not grown to have a curving, sensuous woman’s body while still maintaining a face of sweet innocence.

But I think I’m getting the hang of this. I just have to choke down some more descriptions like that, and I’ll have it in the bag.

Interesting fact: The most prolific romance writers (those writing for a line, such as Harlequin) write a novel a month. 2-6 months is the norm for writers who are writing historic romance or romance books a bit longer than the norm. Norm, btw, is 55,000-60,000 words.

Leave a Reply

