Gardening (AKA “Killing Plants”)

What my garden SHOULD look like

When I was a kid, I used to help my grandmother pick vegetables in the garden. And I have always liked picking blackberries (even though I don’t like to eat them). But other than growing some marigolds and forget-me-nots when I was a kid, I have no real plant experience.

But what I do have are some heirloom seeds. And after 2 years of not planting them, I got on it and started my spring seeds early this year, like I’m supposed to. I planted two different kinds of tomatoes, onions and bell peppers, and broccoli and cauliflower indoors in March. Here it is, though, eight weeks later, and the only thing that’s still alive are the pepper plants. Everything came up, then died. I’m not sure why: maybe too little water, too little sunlight, or maybe I left them outside too late one evening (I did try to set them out on warm days to get sun) and they got too cold. My dad informed me that you can’t water a tomato plant too much, so I’m thinking lack of water may have done them in, but I also have my suspicions about lack of sunlight. Unfortunately we don’t have a place to put any plants inside where they can get sun. I might have to give up the idea of spring plants and plant those things in the fall, when I can plant them outside directly.

What my garden ACTUALLY looks like

I have summer vegetables to plant–and now that Easter has passed and we’re out of the danger of frost–I’ll plant outside. We’ll see what happens. Who knew growing vegetables would have such a steep learning curve? Plants and trees grow in our yard all the time, with absolutely no input from us. When we had a horse, she shat out a stalk of corn and several stalks of wheat; you wouldn’t think it would be so hard to grow some onions.

Leave a Reply

