Rejection Numero Dos

I got my second rejection letter a few days ago.  It merely said, “Not for me, but thank you.” 

I was talking to my boss the other day (she is now reading my proof copy), and she said she had heard J.K. Rowling got twelve rejections before the thirteenth accepted.  That is still a pretty low rate of rejections (Stephanie Mayer only sent out five before getting one back).  I have no hope of being so lucky. 

My boss did bring up a good point–can you imagine how badly those tweleve agents are kicking themselves?  Wouldn’t they like to have that decision back?  15-20% of the take of the world’s richest author (and one of the richest women in the world) has to be pretty sweet.  But it’s kind of like playing the stock market: you can’t always predict the next big thing.

Speaking of query letters, I need to get back on sending some out.  But I’m starting to second guess my query letter a bit.  Even though I made it conform–as much as possible–to the prevailing recommendations, I think it sounds a little boring.  My book is driven by dialog and the relationships between characters–neither of which appear in my query.  I may try and make up an alternate version today.

By the way, for all of you aspiring writers out there, National Novel Writing Month (NaNaWriMo) is getting ready to kick off in November.  It’s a novel-writing boot camp: 50,000 words in 30 days.  I did it last year and you see where I am now–trying to get my book published.

Leave a Reply

