September 8, 2010 – The Future of Books

My writing endeavors are really rolling along.  I have a number of articles (aka lenses) on Squidoo (mostly about medieval history/re-enacting, but I have some other random tidbits there too), and yesterday one of them was made Lens of the Day.  Pretty prestigious! 

Yesterday I also signed up with Writer’s Market ($5.99/mo), which has a large listing of agents, publishers and buyers of poetry, magazine articles, etc.  I’m going to start sending out query letters to agents.  I think I’ll try and submit at least one a day.  Since I did Query Shark yesterday, I need to do another one today. 

I was checking out Kindles the other day (I put one on my Christmas wish list) and I noticed that one of their new, experimental features is the ability to listen to your mp3’s while reading.  Oh, if I could only apply the future of books to today; there are so many places in my books where a soundtrack is needed.  If these ever get made into movies, and, by some miracle, I retain enough say-so that I can pair my music choices with the movie, then that would be awesome, but until that time… oh, what I wouldn’t give to be able to pair music with my book on Kindle.  Obviously there would have to be some sort of licensing agreement, and people who buy the “fully featured” book would have to pay a bit more to cover the cost of buying the music too, but how cool would it be, when you flipped to a certain page or chapter you get to hear the music that the author specifically paired with it?  I’m sure a lot of authors would balk at the idea, but I’m sure there are plenty of others who would jump at the chance, knowing that, finally, the music that inspired them can be heard by their readers, and at just the right time.

And recording artists ought to approve, because books could make songs popular, just like radio does.  But whereas radio tends to limit itself to new stuff, books can be paired with anything.  Popular writers could introduce a new generation to older music, or to independent artists.  I mean, I just copied down the lyrics for Linda Ronstadt’s “Long, Long Time” so I can file it away for a day when it might come in handy.  I know exactly what book I would pair it with.

How much cooler would people find reading if it was more like TV and had audio stimulation?  I want it NOW!

One comment on “September 8, 2010 – The Future of Books

  1. Dean Bowman says:

    What a great idea! Thanks for posting. Best of luck with your MS.

Leave a Reply

