June 20, 2010 – Micah’s Biography

Name and Origin: Micah ben Isaac

I don’t remember how I came across the name “Micah” in college, but I thought it was an interesting name, and put it on my list of names I might use in the future.  It wasn’t long after that that I was in the checkout line at Wal-Mart in Roanoke, VA, and I noticed that was the cashier’s name; I asked him how he pronounced it (my-cuh).  Somehow it stayed with me over the years, and when I started to write this incarnation, and I decided that Anselm’s blood brother was going to be Jewish, “Micah” became the obvious choice (once I cleared that it was in use in the middle ages). 

“Ben” simply means son of, and growing up he was known as Micah ben Isaac (for formality, he could tack on his grandfather’s name as well). 

Date and Place of Birth: 1080, Jerusalem

Parents:  Isaac and (as of yet) unnamed mother.  Micah was their firstborn and only son; he was followed by five sisters (which is a lot of the reason why he is fond children, especially girls; he helped raise his sisters).

Children: He turned his biological father, Isaac

Religion:  Jewish

Micah is a “Yom Kippur Jew,” which means he observes Yom Kippur, and not much of anything else.  Like Anselm, he has a deep personal faith, but doesn’t find much need to be observant on a daily basis.  Like Anselm, blood-drinking creates a barrier between him and his faith (because it’s not kosher). 

Micah, however, does make something of a reconnection with his faith while he is in Jerusalem.  Joshua contributes to it, because Joshua prays with him a couple of times in Hebrew: when he first arrives, Joshua prays for the soul of his father; when they get ready to leave, Joshua prays that all of them will have a safe trip home.  Micah also prays the Mourner’s Kaddish for his father at the Western Wall (and also during his funeral).   

How He Was Turned:  Micah is reluctant to speak about this to most people, even to Anselm.  Micah was turned by choice (not to save his life) when he was nineteen, and he seems ashamed of the thought process (or lack thereof) that lead him to make that decision.  Sort of like getting a tattoo when you’re teenager, then regretting it when you’re thirty.  Micah does admit, in the second book, that his sire owned a brothel—but how he came to know a brothel owner, or why he let her turn him is not volunteered information.

Bet You Didn’t Know: Micah’s name in Incarnation Two was Trallick.  Oh, how glad I am that I decided to give my characters names which are correct to the time, place and culture in which they were born, as opposed to going the sci-fi/ fantasy route with made-up names—especially as I never liked that name in the first place (but never came up with a better one before abandoning that incarnation).

Leave a Reply

